Commercial mortgages·11 min read·Updated

Shawbrook Bank review 2026: its own base rate, a 0.75% floor and a published 25% guarantee

By the CapExpand team

Reviewed by Alex Beardsley, Founder · UK commercial finance broker

Facts checked 7 September 2026 · first published 7 September 2026

Read against shawbrook.co.uk product pages and its published Shawbrook Base Rate history, Companies House, the London Stock Exchange listing announcement, the interim report to 30 June 2026 and Trustpilot.

The short answer

Shawbrook prices variable lending off its own reference rate rather than the Bank of England one. The Shawbrook Base Rate is 3.75% as at 19 December 2025, it carries a published floor of 0.75%, and the bank publishes the full history of every move back to 0.10% in April 2020. In that whole run it has matched Bank Rate at every change. It still reserves the right not to, and a borrower on a Shawbrook variable rate is contracting to SBR, not to the Bank of England.

The second thing worth knowing before you apply is the guarantee. Shawbrook states a “minimum personal guarantee of 25% of the loan amount” on commercial mortgages and “limited personal guarantees of 25% per application” on buy-to-let. Very few UK banks put a guarantee percentage on a public page at all, and a published floor is a floor: it is the least you will be asked for, not a cap.

Shawbrook suits an experienced property investor or an owner-occupier who wants a wide menu, a long term and the ability to trade rate against fee. It suits a business at the larger end too, with asset based lending from £5m and healthcare lending to £35m. It is less suited to a borrower who wants everything on one page: the commercial arrangement fee and early repayment charge are not published publicly, and Shawbrook is the only bank in this group that does not print the FSCS deposit limit on its own site.

Key facts

Commercial mortgages

“Rates from 5.24%”, loans from £150k to £35m, terms 3 to 25 years, up to 75% LTV

Buy-to-let

“Rates from 4.79%”, £50k to £50m, interest only up to 75% LTV

Commercial trading (owner-occupier)

£150k to £1.25m, interest only, maximum 75% LTV

Rate types

Variable, plus 2, 3, 5 and 10-year fixed rates

Shawbrook Base Rate

3.75% since 19 December 2025, with a published floor of 0.75%

Buy-to-let fee options

2%, 3% or 5% arrangement fees with corresponding rates

EPC arrangement fee discount

0.60% for an A rating, 0.45% for B, 0.25% for C, plus a partial refund if the EPC improves

Repeat borrower discount

0.25% off the arrangement fee on each subsequent mortgage

Personal guarantee

Minimum 25% of the loan amount on commercial mortgages; 25% per application on buy-to-let

Business lending

Asset based lending £5m to £50m; corporate leverage finance £3m to £25m; healthcare £1m to £35m

Regulatory status

Shawbrook Bank Limited, Financial Services Register number 204574. Its commercial mortgages are not FCA or PRA regulated

Trustpilot

4.6 from 21,176 reviews, read 7 September 2026

Shawbrook’s own published wording on shawbrook.co.uk, including the Shawbrook Base Rate page, checked 7 September 2026.

What we can place with Shawbrook Bank

Shawbrook Bank sits on our panel with 116 live products across 4 categories. This is what we hold, not what they advertise.

CategoryProductsSizeTermRate
commercial mortgages50£40,000 to £2.5m12 years to 30 years6.44% to 9.94%
buy-to-let mortgages48£50,000 to £2.5m4.84% to 7.29%
bridging finance17£50,000 to £10m1 month to 2 years0.69% to 1.04%
development finance1£1m to £30m12 months to 3 years9%

Spans across Shawbrook Bank products on our panel, checked September 2026. Shown per category, because one range across different product types would describe something no business can actually have. These are not offers, quotes or rates you will be given, and a dash means we hold no published figure for that field. All lending is subject to status and the lender's own checks. Naming a lender is a fact about our panel: it is not an endorsement of CapExpand by Shawbrook Bank, and implies no affiliation. Panel composition changes.

Who Shawbrook are, and how old the company really is

Shawbrook Bank Limited is company 00388466, incorporated on 29 June 1944 as Commercial Credit Trust (Leeds) Limited. It became Whiteaway, Laidlaw & Co. in 1970, Whiteaway Laidlaw Bank in 1988 and Shawbrook Bank in 2011. The bank sells itself as a specialist challenger, and the legal entity behind it is 67 years older than the next oldest company in this group. Registered office is Floor 10, 40 Leadenhall Street.

The footer reads: “Shawbrook Bank is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority (Financial Services Register number: 204574).” It does not carry the company number, which is a small oddity. The regulatory scoping happens at product level instead, and it is blunt: “Our commercial mortgages are not regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority or the Prudential Regulation Authority”, with the same sentence repeated for buy-to-let, asset based lending and healthcare finance.

Ownership changed hands in public in 2025. Shawbrook Group plc was admitted to the London Stock Exchange main market on 4 November 2025 at £3.70 a share, valuing the group at about £1.92bn on admission and making it the largest UK listing since 2021, according to the exchange and the sponsors' announcements. The group had been listed once before, between 2015 and 2017, and was then taken private by BC Partners and Pollen Street Capital. Those details come from the exchange and the trade press rather than from a Shawbrook page we could read, so we attribute them accordingly.

The interim report for the six months to 30 June 2026 shows a loan book of £20.1bn, up 18% year on year, underlying pre-tax profit of £195.5m, up 16%, net interest income of £354.6m and a CET1 ratio of 13.0%. The stated ambition is a book of roughly £30bn by the end of 2030. A bank growing a £20bn book at that pace is not about to tighten its appetite, which is the practical reading for anyone placing a case.

What Shawbrook lends

Commercial mortgages start at “rates from 5.24%” and run from £150,000 to £35m, over terms of 3 to 25 years, up to 75% LTV on commercial, semi-commercial and commercial trading property. Interest only, part repayment and full repayment are all available subject to affordability. Property types named on the page are semi-commercial and mixed use, retail units, industrial units and offices, including serviced offices multi-let on licences. Owner-occupiers have a narrower box called Commercial Trading: £150,000 to £1.25m, interest only, variable or 2, 3 and 5-year fixed, maximum 75% LTV.

Buy-to-let starts at “rates from 4.79%”, spans £50,000 to £50m, offers interest only up to 75% LTV subject to affordability, and accepts automated valuations up to that same 75%. Rate types run to 2, 3, 5 and 10-year fixes, which is a longer menu than most of the market.

The borrower list is wider than the other banks we have reviewed here. Shawbrook says: “So if you're an individual, LLP, limited company, ex-pat or trust, our Commercial Mortgages could be the finance you require.” Individuals are in, which matters for landlords who never incorporated. There is no portfolio cap either: “We don't limit the number of investments that you can hold with us”, and multiple commercial properties can sit on a single loan.

Away from property, Shawbrook writes asset based lending of £5m to £50m secured on a senior all-asset debenture with parental and cross guarantees where required, corporate leverage finance of £3m to £25m over typically three to five years with two financial covenants usually included, and healthcare lending of £1m to £35m at up to 5.5 times EBITDA or 75% of enterprise value, over up to five years with an interest-only period available. That healthcare desk is one of the few in the market that publishes an EBITDA multiple, and it is the reason we look at Shawbrook on care home transactions.

The Shawbrook Base Rate, and what its 0.75% floor means

Most lenders that quote a variable margin quote it over the Bank of England Bank Rate. Shawbrook quotes over a rate it sets itself. In its own words: “Shawbrook has introduced a ‘Shawbrook Base Rate’ (‘SBR’) as a reference rate for determining the interest rate on certain of our products”, and “We will take into account the Bank of England's Bank Rate when setting SBR. SBR will typically be the same as the Bank of England's Bank Rate, but is not guaranteed to be the same.”

To Shawbrook's credit it publishes the whole history, and the history is reassuring. SBR has moved 21 times since April 2020, from 0.10% up through 5.25% in August 2023 and back down to 3.75% on 19 December 2025, and every one of those moves matched Bank Rate. The reference rate has never diverged. What it has is the option to, which is why the contract wording matters more than the track record.

Then the floor. Product pages state: “Shawbrook Base Rate (SBR) is subject to a minimum floor of 0.75%.” At 3.75% that is academic. It becomes real only in a deep cutting cycle, and it means a Shawbrook variable borrower stops benefiting from Bank Rate cuts once the rate passes below 0.75%. Note also the second sentence on the SBR page: “many of Shawbrook's loan products have a minimum rate (otherwise known as a ‘floor’) as part of their Terms & Conditions. Where SBR is below the minimum rate specified in your contract, that minimum rate will be applied.” So there are potentially two floors, one on the reference rate and one on your own product, and only the first is published. Ask what the second is before you sign a variable deal.

For contrast, Redwood also runs its own base rate, currently 3.75% as well, and publishes no floor on it at all. Allica prices over the Bank of England rate directly and dropped a 1.5% floor from its published guide during 2026. Three banks, three different answers to the same question, and only Shawbrook prints its full history.

Trading rate against fee, and the EPC discounts

Shawbrook does something on buy-to-let that most banks keep for a broker conversation. It publishes “product choices with 2%, 3% or 5% arrangement fees and corresponding rates”, so a borrower can choose to pay more up front for a lower rate or less up front for a higher one. A landlord planning to hold for ten years and a landlord planning to refinance in two want opposite ends of that menu, and having the choice on the shelf saves an argument.

The energy discounts sit on the fee rather than the rate, which is unusual and quite sensible. An EPC A property takes 0.60% off the arrangement fee, a B takes 0.45% and a C takes 0.25%. There is also a partial refund of the fee if the EPC is improved during the mortgage, for new buy-to-let mortgages completed on or after 6 May 2022. On a £500,000 loan at a 3% fee, an A rating turns £15,000 into £12,000. That is a real number for anything newly built or recently retrofitted.

Repeat borrowers get 0.25% off the arrangement fee on each subsequent mortgage, with no limit on how many investments can be held. Stack the repeat discount with an EPC B and a landlord on their fourth Shawbrook loan is paying 2.30% instead of 3%. None of that changes the interest rate, and the interest rate is still where the money is, but fee discounts are cash at completion rather than a saving spread over the term.

The 25% guarantee, and the number Shawbrook does not print

The personal guarantee wording is short and it is public: “Minimum personal guarantee of 25% of the loan amount” on commercial mortgages and “limited personal guarantees of 25% per application” on buy-to-let. Read the word minimum. It sets the floor and leaves the underwriter room above it, and on a £2m loan a 25% guarantee is a director signing for £500,000 of personal exposure.

The comparison across this group is the useful part, because the positions genuinely differ. Shawbrook publishes 25% on both commercial and buy-to-let. Redwood publishes 25% on commercial investment but 100% on owner-occupier or operating company lending, which is a different order of risk for a business owner buying its own premises. Allica requires a guarantee on hotels only above 70% of vacant possession value, and treats guarantees case by case elsewhere. Cambridge & Counties says guarantees are “requested from business owners/directors but are not always mandatory”. OakNorth publishes nothing. A director choosing a lender on rate alone can end up with the widest guarantee in the market for the sake of ten basis points.

One publishing gap of Shawbrook's own. Every other bank we reviewed in this group prints the FSCS deposit limit on its site, and every one of them prints £120,000, the figure that replaced £85,000 on 1 December 2025. Shawbrook says only “FSCS protection across our savings range up to coverage limits” and links out to an FSCS information sheet. The protection is statutory and identical whatever a bank prints, so a saver loses nothing. But if you are quoting the £120,000 figure for Shawbrook, source it to the FSCS rather than to Shawbrook, because Shawbrook does not state it.

What Shawbrook does not publish

Buy-to-let gets a fee menu. Commercial mortgages do not: no arrangement fee percentage appears on the public commercial mortgage page, and the early repayment charge for commercial mortgages is not published publicly either. Both live on the broker side, which means a direct applicant is comparing a 5.24% headline against another bank's all-in cost without the fee that goes with it.

There is no decision service level and no time-to-funds figure anywhere on the site. The strongest published claims are “our systems offer automated underwriting on simple Buy-to-Let cases” and a “quick initial decision” on commercial. Anyone quoting a Shawbrook turnaround in days is quoting their own experience, not the bank.

Sector exclusions for commercial mortgages are not published, only a list of what is included. Special purpose vehicle acceptance is not stated in terms; the borrower list runs individual, LLP, limited company, ex-pat and trust, which covers the structures without addressing a brand new company directly.

A minor freshness point. Shawbrook's homepage says it is “rated Excellent with over 10,000 reviews on Trustpilot”. Trustpilot showed 21,176 reviews and a score of 4.6 on 7 September 2026, so the bank is understating itself by more than half. Stale in the conservative direction is the better kind of stale, and it is still worth noticing on a site where you are checking other numbers.

On broker costs, Shawbrook is direct: a broker “will not, in most circumstances, charge a broker fee” on Shawbrook buy-to-let, commercial mortgages and bridging, because the bank pays the intermediary on completion. Fees can apply on trust or ex-pat cases. We do not publish what any lender pays an intermediary, and it is not the reader's number in any case; what matters is that on a Shawbrook case there is normally nothing for you to pay us.

Who Shawbrook Bank suits

A good fit if

  • An experienced property investor with a growing portfolio: no cap on the number of investments held
  • A landlord who wants to trade rate against a 2%, 3% or 5% arrangement fee
  • An owner of an EPC A or B property, where the fee discount is 0.60% or 0.45%
  • Borrowers who need a 10-year fixed rate, which few commercial lenders offer
  • A healthcare operator borrowing £1m to £35m against EBITDA rather than bricks alone
  • An individual or ex-pat landlord who never incorporated

Look elsewhere if

  • A director unwilling to give a guarantee: 25% of the loan is the published minimum, not the cap
  • An owner-occupier needing more than £1.25m, where the Commercial Trading box runs out
  • Anyone who needs the commercial arrangement fee and early repayment charge before applying
  • A borrower on a hard deadline: Shawbrook publishes no decision or funding service level
  • A variable-rate borrower who wants Bank of England exposure rather than a lender-set reference rate

Our verdict

Shawbrook is the broadest property lender in this group and the one we go to when a case needs an unusual shape rather than a sharp headline. Terms to 25 years, fixes to 10 years, £50,000 to £50m on buy-to-let, individuals and trusts accepted, several properties on one loan and no portfolio limit: that combination is hard to match, and the fee-versus-rate menu on buy-to-let gives a landlord a lever most banks keep to themselves.

Where we are careful is the guarantee and the reference rate. A published 25% minimum is honest and it is still 25%, and it is worth setting against what an owner-occupier gives away elsewhere before deciding the rate has won. On variable pricing, SBR has tracked Bank Rate at every one of 21 changes since 2020, so the record is clean, but you are contracting to a rate Shawbrook sets and to a product floor it does not publish. Ask for both floors in writing. Shawbrook is on our panel and we put cases to it alongside the rest of the commercial mortgage panel. We arrange; Shawbrook decides, and every figure above is subject to its own checks.

Shawbrook Bank is on our panel. So are the lenders it competes with.

One enquiry and we check your numbers against Shawbrook Bank and the rest of the panel before anything is submitted. We arrange; the lender decides.

Frequently asked questions

3.75%, set on 19 December 2025, the same as the Bank of England Bank Rate. Shawbrook publishes every change back to 0.10% in April 2020, and SBR has matched Bank Rate at all 21 moves, while reserving the right to differ.
Yes, 0.75%. Shawbrook also says many of its loan products carry their own minimum rate in the terms and conditions, and where SBR falls below that contractual minimum, the contractual minimum applies. Only the 0.75% figure is published, so ask what your product floor is.
The commercial mortgage page says “rates from 5.24%” on loans of £150k to £35m up to 75% LTV. Buy-to-let starts at 4.79%. Those are the lowest rates in each range, not a quote, and the commercial arrangement fee is not published publicly.
Yes, and it publishes the level: a minimum personal guarantee of 25% of the loan amount on commercial mortgages, and limited personal guarantees of 25% per application on buy-to-let. Minimum means it is the least you will be asked for.
On buy-to-let you choose between 2%, 3% or 5% with rates to match, less an EPC discount of 0.60% for an A rating, 0.45% for B or 0.25% for C, and less 0.25% for each subsequent mortgage held with Shawbrook. On commercial mortgages the arrangement fee is not published on the public page.
Commercial mortgages run £150,000 to £35m and buy-to-let £50,000 to £50m. Asset based lending is £5m to £50m, corporate leverage finance £3m to £25m, and healthcare lending £1m to £35m at up to 5.5 times EBITDA or 75% of enterprise value.
Yes. Shawbrook lists individuals, LLPs, limited companies, ex-pats and trusts as acceptable borrowers on commercial mortgages, which is wider than most banks in this part of the market. Acceptance of a newly formed SPV is not stated in terms.
Shawbrook publishes no decision service level and no time-to-funds figure. Its strongest published statements are automated underwriting on simple buy-to-let cases and a quick initial decision on commercial, so any turnaround quoted in days comes from experience rather than from the bank.
Yes, as with any UK bank, but Shawbrook does not print the figure. Its site says only “FSCS protection across our savings range up to coverage limits” and links out. The statutory limit has been £120,000 per eligible depositor since 1 December 2025, and that figure is the FSCS’s rather than Shawbrook’s.
No, and Shawbrook says so on the page: “Our commercial mortgages are not regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority or the Prudential Regulation Authority.” The bank itself is authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and PRA under Financial Services Register number 204574.
The company was incorporated on 29 June 1944 as Commercial Credit Trust (Leeds) Limited, becoming Whiteaway Laidlaw Bank in 1988 and Shawbrook Bank in 2011. Shawbrook Group plc listed on the London Stock Exchange main market on 4 November 2025.
Normally nothing. Shawbrook states that a broker “will not, in most circumstances, charge a broker fee” on its buy-to-let, commercial mortgages and bridging, because the bank pays the intermediary on completion. A fee can apply on trust or ex-pat cases.

Sources and method

Facts on this page were checked against the sources below on 7 September 2026. Where Shawbrook Bank does not publish a figure we say so rather than estimate it.

  1. Shawbrook commercial mortgages page
  2. Shawbrook buy-to-let mortgages page
  3. Shawbrook Base Rate page, including the full history since April 2020
  4. Shawbrook FSCS protection information page
  5. Shawbrook asset based lending page
  6. Shawbrook corporate leverage finance page
  7. Shawbrook healthcare lending page
  8. Companies House, Shawbrook Bank Limited (00388466)
  9. London Stock Exchange, Shawbrook Group plc admission to the main market, 4 November 2025
  10. Shawbrook Group plc interim report for the period ended 30 June 2026
  11. Trustpilot, Shawbrook, read 7 September 2026

Important information

CapExpand Ltd (FRN 1060885) is an Appointed Representative of White Rose Finance Group Limited, which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FRN 630772). We are a credit broker, not a lender, and we do not provide financial, tax or legal advice. We work with a panel of lenders whose particulars are available on request. If a deal completes the lender pays us a commission, at no cost to you; different lenders pay different amounts under different models, and we will tell you the amount for your deal on request. All lending is subject to status, valuation where applicable and the lender's own checks.

Registered office: Pure Offices, Lake View Drive, Annesley, Nottingham, NG15 0DT. Company No. 14433858.