Commercial mortgages·8 min read·Updated

OakNorth Bank review 2026: £1m minimum, and no published price of any kind

By the CapExpand team

Reviewed by Alex Beardsley, Founder · UK commercial finance broker

Facts checked 7 September 2026 · first published 7 September 2026

Read against oaknorth.co.uk, its 2025 annual results release of 17 March 2026, Companies House and Trustpilot. Where OakNorth publishes nothing, this page says so instead of borrowing a number from elsewhere.

The short answer

OakNorth lends from £1 million. That single fact settles most enquiries before anything else is discussed. Its own FAQ says: “At the moment, the minimum loan size that we provide businesses is £1million.” Above that it goes to what it calls tens of millions, on term debt, revolving facilities, bridging and umbrella structures, with money reaching borrowers in “days or weeks, rather than months”.

The unusual part is what it will not tell you. OakNorth publishes no rate, no arrangement fee, no early repayment charge, no LTV ceiling, no personal guarantee position and no sector exclusion list anywhere on its UK site. On cost it says only that the price depends on the borrower and that it focuses “on speed, flexibility and competitive terms over price”. Every other bank in this group publishes at least a headline. OakNorth publishes none.

That is not a criticism of the bank, which is large, profitable and has a ten-year loss record most lenders would like. It is a warning about how to approach it. This is a negotiated, relationship-priced facility with a credit committee at the end of it, and the only price that exists is the one in your term sheet. If you are shopping for a published rate to compare, this page will save you the trip.

Key facts

Minimum loan

£1 million, stated in OakNorth’s own FAQ

Maximum loan

No numeric cap published; described as “up to tens of millions”

Property investment

£1,000,000 to £3,000,000, with indicative terms quoted in five minutes

Interest rate

Not published

Arrangement fee

Not published

Early repayment charge

Not published

Maximum LTV

Not published

Personal guarantee

Not published anywhere on the site

Sector exclusions

None published; only a positive list of favoured sectors

Time to funds

“Days or weeks, rather than months”, OakNorth’s wording. No decision service level published

Banking condition

None: “we won’t make you transfer your business banking over to us”

Regulatory status

OakNorth Bank plc, Financial Services Register number 629564; deposits covered to £120,000 by the FSCS

OakNorth’s own published wording on oaknorth.co.uk, checked 7 September 2026. “Not published” means we could not find the figure on any OakNorth page, not that no figure exists.

What we can place with OakNorth Bank

OakNorth Bank sits on our panel with 5 live products across 3 categories. This is what we hold, not what they advertise.

CategoryProductsSizeTermRate
commercial mortgages3£1m to £25m5 years to 25 years6.75%
development finance1£1m to £35m1 month to 3 years10.75%
unsecured business loans1£1m to £20m12 months to 5 years6.75% to 9.75%

Spans across OakNorth Bank products on our panel, checked September 2026. Shown per category, because one range across different product types would describe something no business can actually have. These are not offers, quotes or rates you will be given, and a dash means we hold no published figure for that field. All lending is subject to status and the lender's own checks. Naming a lender is a fact about our panel: it is not an endorsement of CapExpand by OakNorth Bank, and implies no affiliation. Panel composition changes.

Who OakNorth are

OakNorth Bank plc is company 08595042, incorporated on 3 July 2013 and registered at 57 Broadwick Street in Soho. Its footer reads: “OakNorth Bank plc is authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority. (Financial Services Register number: 629564.)” It uses that phrase rather than FRN, and unlike the other banks we have reviewed in this group it carries no line anywhere saying whether its lending is regulated. Business lending to a company sits outside the consumer credit regime in any case, so the practical answer is that your protection is the facility agreement.

Deposits are a different matter and OakNorth is explicit: “Your eligible deposits with OakNorth are protected up to a total of £120,000 by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.” That limit rose from £85,000 on 1 December 2025. It protects savers. It does nothing at all for a borrower.

The scale is real. OakNorth's 2025 annual results, published 17 March 2026, report pre-tax profit of £223m, gross revenue of £605.9m, total facilities up 18% to £7.2bn and gross originations up 33% to £2.8bn. Cumulative lending passed £15.1bn over ten years, and the bank puts its cumulative principal losses across that decade at 0.045%. Adjusted return on equity was 22% and the cost-to-income ratio 26%.

One number reframes the whole proposition: 40% of 2025 gross originations came from the United States, a market OakNorth entered in 2023, and it has an agreed acquisition of Community Unity Bank in Michigan that was still awaiting regulatory approval at the March 2026 results. Calling OakNorth a UK challenger bank is becoming a description of where its licence is rather than where its lending goes.

What OakNorth actually lends

OakNorth organises its lending by sector rather than by product: care and senior living, childcare and education, real estate, hospitality, fund and speciality finance, then a catch-all that runs “from security to gardening to manufacturing and construction”. The structures on offer are term debt, revolving credit facilities, bridging loans and umbrella facilities that hold several loans under one agreement, with stretched and mezzanine hybrids arranged alongside third-party providers. Loans can amortise or sit interest-only with a lump sum at the end.

The one place OakNorth quotes a range is residential property investment, where it says “you can apply for finance from £1,000,000 up to £3,000,000 and you could receive loan terms tailored to your next residential property investment in just 5 minutes”, subject to the circumstances of each application. Terms in five minutes is an indication, not an offer and not money.

A stale-data warning that costs people time. A search result for the OakNorth business loans page still carries a title reading “Business Loans from £500,000”. The live page and FAQ both say £1 million as at 7 September 2026, so treat the £500,000 as an old index entry. In the same vein, the deals feed on the business loans and real estate pages has not been refreshed past October 2024, which makes the bank look quieter than its originations show it to be.

What OakNorth will not tell you

We read the business loans page, the real estate page, the residential property investment page, the FCA and FSCS legal pages and the FAQ. Not one of them carries a rate, a fee, a charge or a representative example. The whole of OakNorth's published position on cost is this: “The cost of your loan is based on what kind of borrower you are, or your risk profile, which depends on factors like credit history, industry sector and more. We focus on speed, flexibility and competitive terms over price.”

The list of things that are absent is longer than the list of things that are present. Whether pricing is fixed or linked to a base rate: not stated. Arrangement fee: not stated. Early repayment charge: not stated. Maximum loan to value on property: not stated. Minimum trading history or turnover as a number: not stated. Whether a sole trader or a special purpose vehicle can borrow: not stated. Whether a personal guarantee is taken: not stated on any page we could read.

Third-party sites fill those gaps, and we are not going to repeat them. One states a 70% maximum LTV on property investment loans and floating pricing linked to Bank Rate. Neither claim appears on an OakNorth page, so on this site it stays unverified. A number you cannot trace to the lender is worse than no number, because it gives a borrower confidence that has nothing behind it.

Compare that with what the same reader can find elsewhere in ten seconds. Shawbrook publishes a minimum 25% personal guarantee on commercial mortgages and buy-to-let. Redwood publishes 25% on commercial investment and 100% on owner-occupier lending. Allica publishes a guarantee requirement on hotels above 70% of vacant possession value. Cambridge & Counties says guarantees are requested but not always mandatory. OakNorth says nothing, so a borrower cannot know before applying whether directors are on the hook and for how much. For a £1m-plus facility, that is the single most important term in the document.

Who gets approved, and how the decision is made

OakNorth is open about being a manual underwriter and vague about the thresholds: “We're not an out-the-box lender so we don't have a one-size fits all approach. But, there are a few things we'll look at for certain types of loan, for example: How long you've been trading; Your annual turnover; Whether you're profitable or not; What your EBITDA is.” No figure is attached to any of those four. Given the £1 million floor, the effective filter is size rather than a published rule.

Two process points are worth knowing, and both are unusual enough to be verifiable selling points. For loans above a certain size, OakNorth says, “you'll even be invited to meet our Credit Committee”, so the people deciding will have met the people borrowing. And there is no banking condition: “Unlike many other high street banks, we won't make you transfer your business banking over to us.” Set that against Allica, where 0.50% of the published rate depends on routing half your turnover through an Allica account, and the trade becomes clear. OakNorth wants none of your banking and tells you none of its pricing.

On timing, OakNorth publishes a funding range and no decision service level. Its wording is “we typically fund our partners within weeks, rather than months” and “we can fund your business within days or weeks”. There is no promise of a decision in 24 hours or an offer in seven days, which is consistent with a bank that underwrites each case by hand and puts the larger ones in front of a committee.

Trustpilot shows 4.8 out of 5 from 20,971 reviews, 86% at five stars, read on 7 September 2026. Read that with care. OakNorth runs a large personal and business savings book, and a score built on tens of thousands of savers tells you about account opening and customer service, not about how a £4m facility gets underwritten.

What to ask OakNorth before you sign a term sheet

Because nothing is published, everything has to be asked, and asked before you commit to valuation and legal costs. The questions we put on an OakNorth case are these, in the order they usually matter.

  • Is the margin fixed or floating, and if floating, over what reference rate and with what floor?
  • What is the arrangement fee, is it payable on drawdown or on offer, and can it be added to the facility?
  • What are the early repayment terms, including any non-utilisation or exit fee on a revolving facility?
  • What personal guarantee is required, capped at what percentage of the facility, and from which directors?
  • Is a debenture taken, and are there cross-guarantees from other group companies?
  • What financial covenants apply, how often are they tested, and what happens on a breach?
  • What is the maximum loan to value on this asset class, and is it against market value or vacant possession?
  • Which fees are payable if the deal does not complete after the term sheet is signed?

None of those is an unreasonable question for a facility of a million pounds or more, and a bank that puts borrowers in front of its credit committee will answer them. The point is that with OakNorth you have to ask all of them, whereas with Shawbrook or Redwood roughly half are already on a public page.

Who OakNorth Bank suits

A good fit if

  • A borrower who needs £1 million or more, where smaller lenders cannot reach the ticket
  • A care home, nursery, school or hotel group with EBITDA and a management team to put in a room
  • Property investors borrowing £1m to £3m who want indicative terms quickly
  • A business that wants to keep its banking exactly where it is
  • Complex structures: umbrella facilities, revolving lines, stretched debt alongside a third party

Look elsewhere if

  • Any requirement under £1 million: the floor is absolute and stated by the bank
  • A borrower who needs to compare published rates before applying
  • Directors who need to know the personal guarantee position in advance
  • A first-time investor or start-up with no trading history or EBITDA to show
  • Anyone on a fixed deadline who needs a stated decision service level rather than “days or weeks”

Our verdict

OakNorth is where we take a case that has outgrown the mid-market. Above £1 million, in care, childcare, hospitality, real estate or a business with real EBITDA, it is one of a small number of UK banks that will build a facility around the deal rather than fit the deal to a product. The credit record it publishes, 0.045% of cumulative principal lost over ten years, is the strongest evidence that its underwriting works, and no banking condition is a genuine advantage over several of its competitors.

The honest limitation is that you cannot compare it on paper. We would not put OakNorth in front of a borrower who wants three quotes side by side, because there is nothing to put in the column until a term sheet exists. For anything under a million we do not raise it at all. Where a case does fit, we run it alongside the other lenders on the commercial mortgage panel so the term sheets can be read against something. OakNorth is on our panel, we arrange the introduction, and the bank decides.

OakNorth Bank is on our panel. So are the lenders it competes with.

One enquiry and we check your numbers against OakNorth Bank and the rest of the panel before anything is submitted. We arrange; the lender decides.

Frequently asked questions

£1 million. OakNorth’s FAQ states: “At the moment, the minimum loan size that we provide businesses is £1million.” A search result still showing £500,000 is stale index data; the live page said £1 million on 7 September 2026.
OakNorth publishes no rate. Its only statement on cost is that pricing depends on your risk profile and that it focuses “on speed, flexibility and competitive terms over price”. Whether the rate is fixed or linked to a base rate is not stated on any OakNorth page.
Not published. No arrangement fee percentage, early repayment charge or representative example appears anywhere on oaknorth.co.uk, so the term sheet is the first place a borrower will see one.
Not published. We could find no personal guarantee position on any OakNorth page. By contrast Shawbrook publishes a 25% minimum guarantee and Redwood publishes 25% on commercial investment and 100% on owner-occupier lending, so ask OakNorth directly and get the cap in writing.
Not published. A third-party page states 70% on property investment loans; that figure does not appear on OakNorth’s own site, so we do not repeat it as fact.
OakNorth says it funds “within days or weeks, rather than months”. It publishes no decision service level, and for larger loans the process includes an invitation to meet its credit committee, which is a strength for a complex case and a reason not to expect a same-week answer.
No. OakNorth states: “Unlike many other high street banks, we won’t make you transfer your business banking over to us.” That is a real difference from Allica, whose published commercial mortgage rates already include a 0.50% discount conditional on routing half of turnover through an Allica account.
It names care and senior living, childcare and education, real estate, hospitality, and fund and speciality finance, plus a wider group covering security, gardening, manufacturing and construction. It publishes no exclusion list, so a sector not on the positive list is neither ruled in nor ruled out.
Not stated. OakNorth publishes no position on sole traders or on newly incorporated special purpose vehicles. With a £1 million floor the practical answer is that this is corporate lending, but that is our inference rather than the bank’s wording.
OakNorth Bank plc is authorised by the PRA and regulated by the FCA and PRA under Financial Services Register number 629564. It publishes no statement about whether its lending is regulated, which is unremarkable because lending to a company generally is not.
Yes, up to £120,000 per eligible depositor under the FSCS, the limit having risen from £85,000 on 1 December 2025. Deposit protection has no bearing on a borrower’s position.
Mostly not. The score is 4.8 from 20,971 reviews as at 7 September 2026, and OakNorth runs a large savings book, so the sample is dominated by depositors rather than by borrowers on £1 million facilities.

Sources and method

Facts on this page were checked against the sources below on 7 September 2026. Where OakNorth Bank does not publish a figure we say so rather than estimate it.

  1. OakNorth business loans page and FAQ
  2. OakNorth real estate lending page
  3. OakNorth residential property investment page
  4. OakNorth FSCS page
  5. OakNorth 2025 annual results, 17 March 2026
  6. OakNorth acquisition of Community Unity Bank, Michigan
  7. Companies House, OakNorth Bank plc (08595042)
  8. Trustpilot, OakNorth, read 7 September 2026

Important information

CapExpand Ltd (FRN 1060885) is an Appointed Representative of White Rose Finance Group Limited, which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FRN 630772). We are a credit broker, not a lender, and we do not provide financial, tax or legal advice. We work with a panel of lenders whose particulars are available on request. If a deal completes the lender pays us a commission, at no cost to you; different lenders pay different amounts under different models, and we will tell you the amount for your deal on request. All lending is subject to status, valuation where applicable and the lender's own checks.

Registered office: Pure Offices, Lake View Drive, Annesley, Nottingham, NG15 0DT. Company No. 14433858.